How to Create Opportunity

When you work at UCF, you go to a lot of graduations. Saturday I attended my 18th.  Add in my time at UNLV, Kentucky and LSU, and my guess is it’s more than 50. This is a long way of saying that I’ve heard my fair share of graduation speeches.

On Saturday, I thought Jason Brodeur hit it out of the park. It was funny, heartfelt, practical and insightful. It will come as no surprise that his comments about getting out of your comfort zone, taking risks and working with people who have well-considered views that are different than your own resonated with me. But what stood out was when he said: “To get the advancement you seek, you need to be good at what you are doing now. ” Yep, people don’t get opportunities because they want them. They get opportunities because they’ve earned them.

This just doesn’t apply at work; it pretty much applies everywhere. No matter what you want in life, your chances improve tremendously if you are awesome at what you do now. This includes school and your relationships, as well as your career.

Really enjoyed your speech, Jason. If you ever want to speak in The EXCHANGE, we’d love to have you tell our current students what you told our graduates. The earlier they get this advice, the better.

